top of page

The Aroma of Your Heart

Have you ever thought about – “if Money was no object – I would have…” Sure you have, we all have. What was your answer? Thinking about this I was struck by how different my 10 year old self answered versus my 50 year old answer. How much has your response changed? Why? Has it changed for the better? What reason caused the change? A change of heart maybe?



Matthew 6: 21 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also


So at 10 what was your treasure? As funny as this might sound, mine was peace. At the time my Mom and Dad were divorcing and I just wanted peace for them and for us kids. It was a tough time and I know for sure I did not understand all they were going through, how could I - I was a kid and I did not understand that they had themselves plus three children to consider. It must have been tough and I feel bad for them to have experienced it. Skipping forward this many years although it was hard I think it was best for all concerned. The reason I believe that is because of my own heart. I know now why, I also know today and the result. I am not a fan of divorce – I don’t believe in saying I DO especially in front of God and family just to say I don’t later. Forever needs to be planned and worked out and worked on daily. What does your heart say?


In one of my favorite movies – Facing the Giants - there is a line - "Your attitude is the aroma of your heart. If your attitude stinks, it means your heart's not right." So today – what is the aroma of your heart?


I think treasures and attitude kind of go hand in hand here. Your attitude pretty much determines what your treasures are. My car got broken in to this past weekend. Your first reaction might be – oh my gosh – mine was not a happy thought. But as I thought more about it and drove to my destination I thought about what my attitude needs to be about this situation. It stinks but am I going to let the thief steal my joy too? I think not. Instead I chose to be glad that only a change purse and my phone charging cable are missing. The entire car could have been taken, there were other things in there too that were not touched and I’m grateful for that. If the person who broke in my car needed those things so badly that they would steal them then I hope those items are of assistance. I sincerely hope the person did not buy drugs or drinks with that money, it really wasn’t much. I’m not going to be scared of it happening again, I’m not going to be a victim.





I choose JOY – it’s a verb! Joy Joy Joy!







Let’s Pray

Dear Heavenly Father – Please bless each person reading this today. Bless them in whatever the situation is in their lives and circumstance. Lord let them understand and have Joy and hold on to it with firm hands. Lord help us always have the attitude of gratitude. Keep us all safe from sickness and negative things – show the enemy to the door – goodbye and good riddance – stay away. I thank You for always providing. In Jesus Name - Amen

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page