top of page

Thanksgiving

Have you asked, what’s going on? Have you wondered why? Have you seen the evidence of havoc this virus has had on you, on those you love on others around you? Try as much as we can it at times can be really hard. Everyone needs a break from the chaos. I admit there have been times this year I have certainly not been “up and on” at my best and faithful. Imagine not having faith, what or where would your hope lie? Would it be totally on the medical profession to come up with a fix, a vaccine? Is that where we place our hope?


Psalm 33:18 But the eyes of the Lord are on those who fear him, on those whose hope is in his unfailing love



Long ago when I was very early in to my faith a few of my co-workers decided to challenge me. Oh I know it was a huge joke to them both and they were both great debaters. We went on for a few minutes that seemed like hours to me because I was being challenged, I didn’t understand why God would allow me to be challenged like that, wasn’t He going to help me in this time? I was clearly on my own though. They both said “We have an issue with this guy in the sky thing” at this comment I was floored. Even though my faith was very fresh I had always believed that there was a God. As a small child we went to church but I didn’t understand past there was a God. My response was from a common sense place “You mean thousands of people for thousands of years are all under some kind of mass delusion?” they said YES. At this point it was clear they were baiting me. I stopped playing the game and told them I would pray for them and it ended there. Even as baby of a Christian as I was I still had common sense and I think that was God’s way of helping me.


Psalm 69:30 I will praise God’s name in song and glorify him with thanksgiving.


Fast forward a few years and I was laid off from that job because Katrina had hit and caused us to loose so much money the company had no choice but to downsize. I had medical issues and was a single parent, how will I make it and maintain our household on unemployment, it’s never enough. Oddly enough it was. God certainly put some angels in my path that go around, I got help paying bills and with some needs we had.

Philippians 4:6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God



I remember hearing as a kid, “God never promised us a heaven on earth”, meaning was it’s a good as we make it or so I was told. I think there might be truth to the part about it’s as good as we make it. it can and should start with us, what is it Jesus said about the GREATEST COMMAND? Love, yes we can do that, we should do that. We need to love on others and not forget them. Pray for them, help them, talk to them. I don’t mean just saying “I love you” but showing it, putting action to the words.


Matthew 22:36 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment


It’s time folks, not just this week, not just this month but always. Put love in action and show it, show your family, your friends but don’t stop there. You never know when you could be the only face of faith – of Jesus that someone sees in their lifetime.


My brother-in-law said he was 35 when he heard the “good news” and that he was on a crusade to spread the word so no other person would wait until 35 to hear it. I have to agree. Spread the word. It’s Thanksgiving and it’s time.



Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You for sending your Son to take our place, to take our sins. We are not deserving for sure and we are so thankful. Thankful for You sending Him and thankful for Him taking on the sins of the world. What a burden that must have been. Help us always be your hands and feet in this world, especially now, help us be the light the world needs and not forget that always someone is watching that we can influence. Thank you for the gift of family and the wonderful opportunity this week to spend it in thanksgiving. Please be with those who will travel this week and keep them safe, give the drivers out there the peace they need and the time they need to be safe. Thank You as always - Amen

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page