top of page

Tender

I have a friend who uses Tender to describe days when it hurts, when things are not up and at it. Days when a tear might be shed or the heart just needs some time to heal. Tender days – it works – good word. Do you have them? Are you having them?



1 Peter 5:6-7 ESV Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.


Mental health and the fall out on mental health from Covid has been on my heart and mind for a good while. I really care about how folks feel and are feeling these days…. There are those who it does not (did not) affect, who go forward without a care in the world. There are those who have who have really felt the blow from it. Me? When it first started and all the shut downs happened, it was very concerning for me, I watched as friends got furloughed and laid off, I was concerned for my company and the jobs of those here. It would have a big effect on my family since my sister and I work together. This is not a large company but we found a way to be essential, I prayed what felt like constantly. My thoughts once I said prayers and settled things in my mind and heart then to figure out some things that were “outside the box” creative ways we could be essential here at work. One of the largest functions I have at work is to help the Sales force with ideas for things we want to offer our clients, at first it was masks and hand sanitizers, now we are getting back to the normal- I did come up with something pretty brilliant (I thought so anyway) – after we sell all this hand sanitizer we should sell lotion to offset the dry skin it will cause. While things were slow my boss also asked me to do some video classes to learn more skills that would help in my job. This helped ease my mind and allowed me to feel more essential. It’s not lost on me though how frightening it can be for some folks. I think too being secluded can make folks goofy, I know if we had ever gotten to the point of having to work from home I would not have been a fan of that at - all oh I would have done it but not been really pleased about it. I’m not the work from home type. I need to be out there and with people. It’s just who I am. I have thanked God many times for not ever getting to that point.



So what to do about combating the mental parts that might still be lingering? Consider what it says in the Bible.


2 Timothy 1:7 ESV For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control


John 14:27 ESV Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.


3 John 1:2 ESV Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.


Proverbs 17:22 ESV A joyful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones


Psalm 147:3 ESV He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.


Psalm 34:18 ESV The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.



That seems pretty clear huh. Even if you have to repeat these every day, make cards to put on the mirror and include in your daily prayers. Whatever it takes to get to that peace place. I guarantee it’s where God wants us to be. He does not want us to FEAR… it says Do Not Fear 365 times in the Bible so I think God meant for us not to fear.


1 Peter 5:8 ESV Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.



Fear is fuel for the enemy too. He feeds on our fears so don’t give him any ammunition against you. I love the way Joyce Meyer said it in Battlefield of the Mind… if your mind is full of the Word of God, full of prayers and promises, good things then there is NO ROOM for the enemy to get in there and take hold of your mind and capture your thoughts. A meeting I was in recently talked about what do we do in situations to keep ourselves in the right frame of mind. My answer was easy, I read my devotionals in the mornings and then there is an online devotional I read then I blog, I write my own. I love writing and I love thinking about and praying about something I write perhaps moving someone. Giving them hope for today, hope for tomorrow and a peace. If I can do that for just one person I’m happy. I know God’s plan for me on this Earth is to encourage.


So how else can I encourage you today?


Dear Heavenly Father – Thank You for the gift of encouragement. Thank You for getting us to this point beyond this covid mess. Thank You for moving past it and getting back to normal. Please keep being with us in health and mental health. In Jesus Precious Name - Amen

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page