top of page

Repeating


In Leviticus as God is instructing Moses on how the Israelites are to live, how to honor Him there are many instructions and at the end of almost all of them God says… “I am the Lord your God”. In many more of the instructions God ends them with the same line.


Leviticus 18:30b “I am the Lord your God.’”


Here is the entire point God is making in this text, Leviticus 18:29-30 29 “‘Everyone who does any of these detestable things—such persons must be cut off from their people. 30 Keep my requirements and do not follow any of the detestable customs that were practiced before you came and do not defile yourselves with them. I am the Lord your God.’”


In Leviticus 19 it says it time and again, 12 “‘Do not swear falsely by my name and so profane the name of your God. I am the Lord. Then again 14 “‘Do not curse the deaf or put a stumbling block in front of the blind, but fear your God. I am the Lord. “‘Do not do anything that endangers your neighbor’s life. I am the Lord. 18 “‘Do not seek revenge or bear a grudge against anyone among your people, but love your neighbor as yourself. I am the Lord. 25 But in the fifth year you may eat its fruit. In this way your harvest will be increased. I am the Lord your God. 28 “‘Do not cut your bodies for the dead or put tattoo marks on yourselves. I am the Lord. 31 “‘Do not turn to mediums or seek out spiritists, for you will be defiled by them. I am the Lord your God. 32 “‘Stand up in the presence of the aged, show respect for the elderly and revere your God. I am the Lord. 33 “‘When a foreigner resides among you in your land, do not mistreat them. 34 The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the Lord your God. 35 “‘Do not use dishonest standards when measuring length, weight or quantity. 36 Use honest scales and honest weights, an honest ephah[d] and an honest hin.[e] I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of Egypt. 37 “‘Keep all my decrees and all my laws and follow them. I am the Lord.’”



I pondered over this yesterday. I was asking myself why? Why did God need to say it many times? Why would God tell Moses this many times? It is obvious that the message was for the Israelites – again why?


Now think about an earthly king who tells his servant to distribute the law throughout his land. The servant is not speaking of his own authority, but of the King who sent him. Therefore to make this clear to the people where this message comes from the servant says "This is the law - I am your king".


Another thing that came to mind is this. I’m a Mom and I know many Mom’s will tell you that there are times and other times and more times when as a parent you have to say the same thing over and over and over again for it to sink in. Everyone has their own agenda and sometimes that does not line up with God’s agenda, the other point is that when we are in our own heads we sometimes don’t pay as much attention to what someone is saying, too busy being inside our own head – doing what we want, thinking what we want, etc. God may have to repeat Himself again and again to get the message across. If you think about it, these Israelites – MY OPINION – did a bunch of grumbling. They asked why would we be brought out of Egypt a land flowing with milk and honey to the desert where there is no food except manna and no water (my opinion – completely forgot they lived there in bondage, they were slaves). They whined many times over and made God angry. Moses more than one time had to reason with God about not killing everyone but rather punish only the offender and not the whole tribe of people. Sometimes it amazes me, I’ve never seen a cloud of fire, I’ve never seen a massive river parted and the river bottom dried instantly so I could walk on it. I’ve never had Manna fall from Heaven so I had something to eat. They saw miracle after miracle, still it took a good while for them to really believe.


Now I’m not saying I’ve never seen my fair share of miracles, indeed I have. I can think of so many… I watched my Mom live seven wonderful months when the doctors told us realistically two months. I watched her give and get so much love and not have pain much during the time. I watched her take her last breath and see there was no pain on her sweet face, only peace. I thanked God plenty for this miracle. I still do all these years later.


I witnessed my Granddaughter being born. I watched her take her first breath, I heard her cry for the first time, I saw her eyes open, I saw my child give birth and give life. I thanked God through my happy tears for this one too. Anyone who knows me knows that little girl is my heart and that God did a good good thing by letting me be her Nonnie. It’s the best blessing!


There are so so many more I can’t list them here. There are also every day miracles that many times get overlooked. Since the beginning of this pandemic I have prayed pretty much every single night that God would keep this virus away from me, my kids, my granddaughter, my family, my extended family, my friends. Now I know some have had it, but the overwhelming majority of these people I have prayed for have not and I have to say, what a blessing! God is so GOOD.



I went today to get a sonogram of my kidneys and while there I had a chance to talk to the tech, a sweet young lady about faith. I told her that God was in charge of my kidneys – I put Him in charge. Whatever happens God will keep me in His grip and He will give me healing and health. She said she loved my attitude about all of it. Simple little conversations like that sometimes can be the spark, the start of something bigger and better. Oh I know when I fish for more people for God’s kingdom that I won’t catch all of them but if there is a good word I can put out there by goodness I am going to.


We need so much more God these days, so much less hate, bitter and angry. More love, more miracles, more life, more kindness.


I am the Lord your God, is and should be enough for all of us. It is the best thing we have or can ever have.


Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You for being our Lord, thank You for miracles, not only to remind me of Your goodness, also because we need these reminders that life is good, that Love is good. That Kindness is good. Please keep reminding us. In Jesus name AMEN



7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page