top of page

Rainbows


Rainbows are beautiful, I have never seen one that didn’t just make me stop and stare, I’ve seen thousands of them in my lifetime, I am not sure how many times I have read this but this time the part in Genesis about it being a sign of the covenant with Noah made me stop and think about what I was reading and its purpose. What a lovely ending to the floods, I’m sure that all living creatures were happy for the reprieve in rain and wet. Just to add something on top of it being a good and dry day God comes along and provides something beautiful to top it off. I feel like rainbows have taken on a whole new meaning for me now.


Let me set the stage for you if you are not following along, in this section of the world God was really not happy with all the sin happening in the world and He wanted to stop it so He decided to flood the world and save a select few who would begin again and do it right. So He gave Noah exact directions on how to build the ARC and which animals and how many to take with him along with his wife and sons, plus their wives. See Noah was a good man, a man who loved God! He did as God asked, he built the ARC and he gathered his family and the animals, they rode out the flood for 40 days straight it rained. I think we can all identify with this right now. Oh but after the sun came up and brought the rainbow, what a glorious sight it must have been to Noah and his family. A great sign of new and beauty, a sign that God is pleased.


Genesis 9:12-15 12And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: 13 I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14 Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life.


In our lives rainbows usually come after storms, seems logical because that’s what happened to Noah and his family. It can be described as something beautiful after a storm of trails and issues.


With God as intentional about all things, I think it’s safe to say that Rainbows exist to remind us of what we need to focus our attention on. Not the trial, problem, issue but the beauty that comes after the storm.


I don’t know about you but I am looking forward to the rainbow!


Let’s Pray


Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You for the storms in our lives that teach us patience, perseverance and how to have an attitude of Gratitude. Thank You so much also for the rainbow, it truly is a piece of what Heaven must be like. Amen

12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page