top of page

Persevere

What does it mean to persevere? What does it mean to you? I’m sure for everyone the meaning can be similar or even vastly different and depending on what you’ve been through in your life. Some reading this have battled illness, divorce, death and great loss and others have battled very little.


Websters defines perseverance as - to persist in a state, enterprise, or undertaking in spite of counterinfluences, opposition, or discouragement


I am reading the Bible right now chronologically and I am at the part where the Isrealites were liberated from Egypt, they travelled forty years around in what seemed like circles and have finally come to Jerico, the land that God is giving them “the promised land”. As they were wondering around they went through times where they wondered where the next food would come – and God brought Manna from Heaven. They wondered where the next drink of water would come – and the rock was struck and water flowed from it. They certainly grumbled and appeared to lose faith while they were aimlessly wondering. Many times God had to remind them of all He had done for them and how much He promised. He gave specific instruction and asked them to follow that instruction, those who did not were certainly punished. They ran in to opposition almost every turn.



Hard way – Easy way? Even when life gets really tough there is always a lesson in it. it takes perspective and understanding that its ok to battle sometimes, its ok not to be perfect, it’s ok to have challenges. In the Bible it talks about persererance several times


Romans 5:3 Romans 5:2-4 New International Version 2 through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we[a] boast in the hope of the glory of God. 3 Not only so, but we[b] also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4 perseverance, character; and character, hope.


2 Thessalonians 1 Thanksgiving and Prayer 3 We ought always to thank God for you, brothers and sisters,[b] and rightly so, because your faith is growing more and more, and the love all of you have for one another is increasing. 4 Therefore, among God’s churches we boast about your perseverance and faith in all the persecutions and trials you are enduring.


Lets pause here and talk about what they are talking about here in persecutions, this is when the church was brand new and it still wasn’t the “in” thing to be Christian. The Romans were brutal to those Christians in this time. I’ve used this example before and using it now because it’s a very vivid example of persecution, and it makes a large impact statement. Many times when the Romans found Christians they covered them in oil and nailed them to a post – not exactly like a crucifix but close then they lit them on fire, placing them around the streets of Rome, there was a dual purpose, to show the Christians what happens and also to light the streets at night. Sometimes when I think about the persecution at this time I’m surprised God didn’t wipe out the Romans totally and just get on with it. I think, as I said earlier, sometimes there is a lesson in the suffering. God knew that and is teaching us.


Hebrews 12:1 New International Version 12 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.


I have always liked this verse and every time I read it I find new meaning in it. The race marked out for us. One of life’s big questions is – why am I here – what is my purpose. The answer to that is for you to discover. Its funny because for me it took a few guesses before it hit me that I already knew and was doing it – filling my purpose. I am sure I’ll do that for the long haul. Don’t’ make it over complicated like I did when trying to figure it out. Your purpose does not have to be that hard. I remember reading the Purpose Driven Life and it said I was planned – before I was born – I have a reason for being on this Earth – I will be used by God for a good purpose – my mind and heart were leaping and rejoicing because I was not just floundering – I have a purpose – we have a purpose. My first though (What’s my Purpose) was about Hometeam (Small Group – Bible Study). I had done it for about 6 years and I was good at it (My opinion). Naturally I thought being a Hometeam leader was my purpose. This was narrow-minded because although I could be in some form of Bible Study for the rest of my life – nothing says I could or should lead it. Sometimes you need to get yourself out of the way and let someone else shine. When this particular Hometeam was at the end of its season I was left thinking – what about my purpose? I think it had to stop at least for me to understand my purpose went beyond that. After thinking about it a good bit I realized that part of what I did as a Hometeam leader that IS my purpose, my God given gift is encouragement. Funny how something that I felt was earth shattering had to happen in order for me to get clear about this.


The next scripture about persevere is James 1:2-4 and I’m going to give you the Message version because it’s terrific. Note here though it says persevere in a different way but you get the meaning. Sometimes we have to be patient.


I heard this years ago and laugh as I think about it from time to time because it makes way too much sense but I just never thought about it – You know, God would never put you in a room full of patient people if He wanted to teach you patience.


James 1:2-4 The Message Faith Under Pressure 2-4 Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.


I realize I come back again and again to these scriptures because I’ve included them in many of my devotionals. I think the best reason is because they are great treasures and need to be brought out as many times as needed. To get the point across, to love on Gods people and those who may not have that relationship with Jesus.


You can tell me all day long – Oh I’m not worthy of having that relationship with Jesus – you don’t know my past. You’re right I don’t but let me tell you this – I don’t have to know it – because it does not matter – God loves you and Jesus died for you knowing all you have done, all you will do and He died anyways – for you! Pure and unselfish.


Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You just simply Thank You!

7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page