top of page

My Baby –My Girl – My Sweetie

Ok Ok I’m going to show my age right now but that’s ok – I own it. Thirty years ago today, I was due. It was B (born) day for my baby to be here. Little did I know she was not ready yet. She wanted to wait to meet me so we waited and we waiting and we waited – two extra weeks. I tell you that was one of the longest summers and HOT…whew.



When they first put her on me to ride to the room I was just worn out. I had been awake since Thursday morning at 3:30am and this was Friday night at 7:00 pm. When they turned up the meds I instantly wanted to nap. I truly was excited for her though battle of excited – sleepy – excited – sleepy, sleepy won out. As they rolled me down to the room just outside the door was my sister. I looked up at her and she was crying – I said “what’s wrong” to which she replied – Oh my gosh she looks just like you. We both cried.


Psalm 127:3-5 3 Children are a heritage from the Lord, offspring a reward from him. 4 Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are children born in one’s youth. 5 Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them.


I always knew I wanted to be a Mom, I just never wanted to be a single Mom, however, when she turned 2 that’s what happened. Over the years we struggled, we played, we lived and we laughed. Not all times were good in these years. I will say this, we had each other and that makes everything better. She always was my sidekick, my doing anything buddy. As she got older our relationship became one of not so much Mother - Daughter. I respect her now more than ever that she is a Momma herself. She has two beautiful babies. My girl is a wonderful Momma. Her children are good babies and have sweet hearts.



Having an adult child is really amazing too because you are less and less the advice giver, the cook, the taxi, the hugger and the disciplinarian and more just like a friend. When you see her make grown up decisions that are really great decisions you are so happy inside for her. When you see her marry someone wonderful your heart is full (or so you think), when she has babies and you watch them born then grow in to their little personalities… yes that’s what it’s all about. I’m so blessed that God let me be her Momma. I am so blessed that she is a great person, smart and kind hearted.


She’s the best thing I’ve ever done.


Heavenly Father, thank You, Thank You, Thank You more than I can ever express for letting me be her Momma. Thank You for the gift of my daughter. Watch over her for all she needs – as I always ask. Thank You in advance for giving her all she needs. In Jesus Name - Amen

10 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page