top of page

Meet Them Where They Are

Where is your ministry? It’s funny below in the scripture that the people were muttering about Jesus ministering to a sinner. The believers already believed, they needed no convincing. Maybe a good refreshing sermon here and there. Again I say – they already believed. Where would they have wanted Jesus to speak? To Teach? In the church? Oh if we had our ministry there for sure we might make stronger believers out of some I’m sure that there are even non-believers who go to church because something peaked their interest. He could have reached them. The masses of who Jesus wanted to reach were not in church though. I’m not saying don’t go to church, we all need to be in church, hearing the good word, learning more and more – it sharpens us for what’s next – going out and about. Location – Location – Location… Where’s yours?



Luke 19: 1-10 Zacchaeus the Tax Collector 19 Jesus entered Jericho and was passing through. 2 A man was there by the name of Zacchaeus; he was a chief tax collector and was wealthy. 3 He wanted to see who Jesus was, but because he was short he could not see over the crowd. 4 So he ran ahead and climbed a sycamore-fig tree to see him, since Jesus was coming that way. 5 When Jesus reached the spot, he looked up and said to him, “Zacchaeus, come down immediately. I must stay at your house today.” 6 So he came down at once and welcomed him gladly. 7 All the people saw this and began to mutter, “He has gone to be the guest of a sinner.” 8 But Zacchaeus stood up and said to the Lord, “Look, Lord! Here and now I give half of my possessions to the poor, and if I have cheated anybody out of anything, I will pay back four times the amount.” 9 Jesus said to him, “Today salvation has come to this house, because this man, too, is a son of Abraham. 10 For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.”


Beyond the lunch with sinners, you see that Zacchaeus did something that was an act of obedience, he gave away wealth and he promised to make right anything he had done wrong. Of course Jesus was happy about this and of course he gave Zacchaeus forgiveness and his salvation. I love this line 10 For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.” That’s exactly what Jesus did with His time of teaching.



Back to location, so where are you ministering. I have a friend who’s ministry is in the bar area at a Mexican Food place. She goes there frequently and the people there really love her. She is being the hands and feet of Jesus and showing His love to those who might not already know it. You know, not everyone who is sitting in a bar drinking or eating needs to hear about Jesus, but chances are – they do. Why not have a bar ministry… When Covid began she told me I should go on and go to the grocery store, get in that aisle and start a toilet paper ministry. Boy did I want to do that … those aisles were pretty empty for a good while though. Grin. I could have made some tracts about – storing up…ha ha ha



Most of my ministry is this blog, sending out devotionals, talking to family and friends, witnessing at work. Work is an area you have to be somewhat careful, and at the same time. Get some Jesus on. You can’t hide from me at work. I also don’t hide my faith. I have photos and books and items all over my desk that speak of my faith.


Speaking of ministry, I have a co-worker who was in an accident recently. He literally this week got out of the hospital from it. he ended up loosing his foot and up to mid calf. He was walking on crutches and was doing good, he came to the office yesterday just to say hi. I was so glad to see him and so happy to get a hug. Up to now we’ve had some interactions, what I mean by that is this – he and I don’t really work together, in my office there are 5 companies all in this building, some are connected and some are not. My company does printing, apparel and promotional items. The company he works for is the courier company. There are times I need a courier but for the most part we just see each other around the office. Our desks are not near each other so it may be a hi in the morning or bye in the evening.


Sometimes though, when we have company lunches or functions I see more of him. There are also times when he is aggravated, normally at his boss. This boss has a way of getting under his skin and just getting him all riled up. It’s pretty comical that during many of those times – we just so happen – NOT A COINCIDENCE – see each other in the hall and I can tell he is upset. I talk to him and remind him how his Grandma raised him, to be a good Christian man and to be the hands and feet of Jesus. The drivers sometimes get goofy too and he gets frustrated with them, I’ve reminded him – YOU may be the only Jesus they ever see or experience – do you want them to not WANT Jesus because you were mad? I’ve ministered to this man many times because I know that I know – it’s what God put me in this place for. Sure I have a job but I have a bigger job too. He is not the only one. I try to do and say everything I can to advance the kingdom.


So yesterday, he says – I have a purpose and it’s big. I’m just waiting for God to show me what to do and when. I told him I wanted to be a witness to this greatness. I want to see him go forth and share his testimony and I want to see it move others. He actually said it had to happen ( the accident) and he knows that. WOW, can you image.


So – meet them where they are, go to them. Find them. Toilet paper aisle, Mexican food place, work, Bar, where you go take Jesus with you. Then Leave some of Him behind when you go. The world will be a much better place (not “if”, but…) WHEN you do.


I’m going to say this too, Thank you in advance for being the hands and feet of Jesus.



Dear Heavenly Father, Thank you for sending the Son of Man – who came to seek and to save the lost. I am so grateful You did. Help us have the words to speak to those we come in contact with so we can give them the perfect word and they will know that God is Good. In Jesus Most precious Name - AMEN

3 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page