top of page

Marked Out


In the three years Jesus took His journey to preach, to teach and to fill the prophecies, He surrounded Himself with these men who were His disciples (follower of a teacher or philosopher) they started out as just average men – four of them were fishermen, one was a tax collector, a Zealot (Zealots engaged in politics and anarchy, attempting to overthrow the Roman government). Another called himself a thief but ended up as the treasurer for Jesus and the group. The Bible provides no information on the professions of Philip, Bartholomew, Thomas, Thaddaeus or James, the son of Alphaeus. For most of them, they ended up doing what Jesus intended, what He taught them, what He poured in to them. That is to start the Church, spread the word and ignite Christianity. First though, a few of them had parts that were not so great in the story. Sometimes pieces of our story are just not good or fun, yet necessary. It is what is marked out for us. Our story and how it needs to go. It has a reason, it has a purpose. How can we appreciate the race marked out for us if we don’t live it as it is intended?


Hebrews 12:1-2 12 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3 Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.



Years ago I was listening to a sermon about the exodus from Egypt, the Israelites left Egypt and wandered around for 40 years before going to the Promised Land. They could have gone straight there but didn’t… Why – well there are many reasons, the Pastor said if they would have gone straight there - an army was waiting to crush them and they were not ready to engage in battle yet so that would have been futile, God clearly had other plans for these people – so wonder they did. The point was sometimes you have to wander around a bit before you get where you need to be and that’s ok, it needs to be that way, the journey is part of the process – right? Maybe you need to bump your backside along the road some so you learn life lessons – Oh I know I have done that – got the road rash to prove it too. Maybe you need to see God at work in your life a few times and really realize that He IS working in your life. Maybe you need to see Him work in the lives of others so you can be sure. Whatever the case may be don’t rush to get there – the journey is necessary. It’s running the race marked out for you. Let the not so great parts do what they need to do in our lives – same as the disciples.


Mark 14: 17-26 17 When evening came, Jesus arrived with the Twelve. 18 While they were reclining at the table eating, he said, “Truly I tell you, one of you will betray me—one who is eating with me.” 19 They were saddened, and one by one they said to him, “Surely you don’t mean me?” 20 “It is one of the Twelve,” he replied, “one who dips bread into the bowl with me. 21 The Son of Man will go just as it is written about him. But woe to that man who betrays the Son of Man! It would be better for him if he had not been born.” 22 While they were eating, Jesus took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to his disciples, saying, “Take it; this is my body.” 23 Then he took a cup, and when he had given thanks, he gave it to them, and they all drank from it. 24 “This is my blood of the[c] covenant, which is poured out for many,” he said to them. 25 “Truly I tell you, I will not drink again from the fruit of the vine until that day when I drink it new in the kingdom of God.” 26 When they had sung a hymn, they went out to the Mount of Olives.


Amplified Version 21 For the Son of Man goes [to the cross] just as it is written [in Scripture] of Him; but woe to that man by whom the Son of Man is betrayed! It would have been good for that man if he had not been born.”


The Message Version 20-21 He said, “It’s one of the Twelve, one who eats with me out of the same bowl. In one sense, it turns out that the Son of Man is entering into a way of treachery well-marked by the Scriptures—no surprises here. In another sense, the man who turns him in, turns traitor to the Son of Man—better never to have been born than do this!”



Well-marked by the Scriptures – it was foretold to happen. For the disciples part they just had to be human, they had to do what they did, while Jesus prayed (in the garden) they slept, but were supposed to keep watch and pray. One turned Him in to the authorities for money. Once arrested another one denied he knew Jesus – three times. For Jesus it was much harder though. It is written that in prayer in Gethsemane (Gat Shemen, meaning "olive press."), He was under so much stress that he was literally sweating blood. He also prayed to God that everything which was (foretold) to come be taken away from Him – and He said but only if it was God’s will. He knew but He had to ask… Gods will was for Jesus to fill the prophecy, to die for the sins of mankind. Jesus also knew He had been betrayed and that the soldiers were soon coming. Jesus knew that He was the ultimate sacrificial lamb. It had to happen. What a burden for the son of man, it must have been so hard and hard on His heart. I just don’t think I could ever imagine, not even close.


It is such a teeter totter of emotion to say, I am so glad Jesus did go through with it. It also is really hard to say that knowing what He did for me. When I watched the Passion of the Christ it was simply heartbreaking to watch the beating scenes. I was in a theater and the screen was huge and the sound was booming so it felt like I was there in person. I didn’t realize I was sobbing until my friend told me I was. I was so impassioned that they were beating my Jesus. I felt indignant too because I knew He had done nothing wrong. Then there were the scenes of His mother watching Him and then seeing Him on the cross and boy did that reach me as well, being a mom myself. I don’t think I’ll ever forget how I felt through that entire movie. The whole movie felt so real to me and I was again glad and not that I watched it.



Let’s Pray: Thank You Jesus for Your sacrifice. This week is a wonderful time to celebrate (You) Jesus and Your word, Celebrate (You) Jesus and Your time on Earth, Your teachings and Your sacrifice. It is time to celebrate Your resurrection and Your time to come again. In Jesus most precious name I pray – AMEN.

7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page