top of page

Jump to be FIRST

OH OH I’ll go first. Me first - Me first… are you someone who likes to go first? Consider why?




Is going first a bad thing – No it’s not. (just say’n – at the buffet – heck yes be first – dibbs!) There are some things to consider though. When you are first do you ever look behind you to see what others are doing the same as you did or differnet? There is a lot to be learned from the one who goes first AND there is much to be learned from those who go in between AND even last. Think about it this way… if you are always the leader of the pack and out front don’t you have to think about leading? Think about the trip, where you are going, what route, how fast, is everyone keeping up? Maybe it would be cool to just follow a bit and not have to worry about speed or the map or anything except looking around and enjoying the journey. I believe, at times, that when someone goes first they rarely turn around to see what others are doing and miss on some things that could be of great benefit and good for them too.



Mark 9:35 (New International Version) Sitting down, Jesus called the Twelve and said, “Anyone who wants to be first must be the very last, and the servant of all.”

Not that being a servant to all is a bad thing, I can see where serving the others is a blessing. There was a lesson in what Jesus was saying though. Don’t always be hasty. It’s good to be first but its also good to go second or last.



My Granddaughter is a perfect example of this. in some ways she is fearless, she tries things with zest to eat and there is not much she doesn’t like. This makes me really happy because lots of kids are pretty picky – ewww it’s green, I’m not eating that. At two, baby girl even likes things that are GREEN. She loves broccoli, she likes lettuce and pickles. She LOVES avocados – why not – good stuff! I had some stir fry last night and she was sitting next to me, I gave her some of my carrot slivers and she loved it. it was cute for her to sign and say – more please.


On the other hand there are areas where she is careful and cautious, I understand why. When I get to the back door at their house I pause to grab the door jam and so does she because there is not a big one but a step down and I’ll tell you, I am going to grab on. I still remember years ago when a little bitty step down just like it caused me to crash and burn… I saw the step, I noted it was there and the next time I walked out there boom – fell down and wacked my knee pretty hard on a fan that was sitting out there. Ouch and double ouch. So those little steps make me pause, someone else can go first I’ll hang back and let you.


I believe what Jesus was trying to teach is being first is ok but it’s not always the best thing. Hang back and watch, see, experience and be part of this thing instead of hurry up and be first. At this point Jesus was trying to provide as many lessons as He could to the 12 and the lesson became more ardent. He was trying to tell them to be intentional and if you’re always hurrying to be first or be most important then you might miss out on some things.


Geez does this make me think about kids, as they get older and older then WANT to be older and older. In such a hurry to grow up. I think it’s more the strive for independence. Then once that is achieved it’s opposite. Oh to be that young again. Grin. The circle of life. Independence and grown up has a way of weighing you down because of the responsibilities.



Now days with all the junk going on in our world I can see how many folks would be standing back and not going first or middle or last to have children… why would they want to bring a child in to THIS world? In all honesty I do understand the hesitation. I also understand this…

Jesus is on the throne. King of the Kingdom - God



If you bring a child or children in to this world the key to remember is that they really are not your children – they are God’s children and if they are HIS children then He picked you to be Earthly parents to this or these children. Don’t you believe He will equip you to take care of them? Do you not think He will be with them, guide them and love them? Of course He will. You just need to trust Him and train your children in the ways of the Lord and they won’t depart from it when they get older.



Dear Heavenly Father – Thank You for always being there with us on this journey. I pray You will show us the times when it’s great to be first, when it’s better to be second and when being last is the perfect choice. Thank You for the journey – In Jesus Name - Amen

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page