top of page

How Many Times Does That Happen?

Have you ever read a scripture and thought it meant one thing, only to have it kind of gut punch you and show you it means something else? Or perhaps when you read it the first time – based on what was going on in your life you interpreted it one way and then read it again later when other things were going on in your life and wowwie did the meaning change. How about this one, have you being going along doing life and a scripture is right there in your line of sight, gently placed there. So you look – take note then move on and it may be a day or so later, it might be the same day, it might be longer but you are going along doing life and boom – there it is again, kind of like a nice big fat 2X4 – Here’s your SIGN…grin. That Scripture. Over the course of time it keeps coming up again and again. Oh you can think it subtle all you want but friends – that is a honest to goodness… GOD NUDGE or so I call it.



I’ve had this happen to me lots of times. I remember when I discovered James 1:2-4 it seemed to be everywhere, I heard it time and time and time again, not that I ever wanted to but it seemed like I could not escape that scripture. We were in a class and my friend was sitting next to me and the speaker unpacked James 1:2-4, I had been talking to my Bible Study group about it and there it was again. Like God saying – Yes my girl – this one is a good one and I need you to know it. I will repeat it in as many ways or as many times as I need to for you to realize this is for you. Then there was the tap my arm when it got said in this lesson. She was listening too and taking inventory on that scripture because it’s a good one. Allow me to show you. James 1:2-4 Trials and Temptations 2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,[a] whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. 4 Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.


Pretty awesome huh. You might think I’m nuts for loving it (consider it all joy when you face trials? Wait what?) but here is why, because things in this lifetime are not always easy, we will have bad times, we will have stress, we will have sadness, things will go wrong. But if as it says let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature (spiritually) complete, lacking in nothing. Well balanced. You’ll have a steady foundation, not blown over by strong windy (or life type things) you’ll be tested and true. Like the when they are purifying metal, heat it up really hot so that the junk and stuff rises to the top, then it can be skimmed off and what you have left is pure wonderful metal – like silver or gold. Each of us can be in our own way by keeping God on our side and weathering the storms become our own version of Silver or Gold.



Over the last year I have personally been through some – for lack of a better term – ups and downs. Things I never saw coming and never would have dreamed I’d have to deal with.

Sometimes it’s just a matter of being spiritually strong and being sure, not just thinking you are but doing all you can to be sure, building a rock solid foundation based on God, the Bible, faith, Godly council, good accountability, study, tools, reading, staying in the word, prayer and more prayer and so much more. Don’t let that guard down one little bit because if you do the enemy will come at your with both barrels full and ready to take you down. That’s how he operates.


As I began to realize what was happening (over this last year) I worked on getting myself in a better place. Part of the things I was challenged with was needing to move. My old place was just old and run down, I needed a change. Not only did I need an address change I need a change up on the inside too. It took me time but I started seeing this as – rather than a loss – because I purged for this move, and when I say I purged - I purged big time – but I began seeing it differently. I got rid of almost all my furniture and a ton of my belongings. At the start I was not happy and had a tough time finding myself going through things and just not wanting to do this at all. But a scripture jumped off the page during some reading. That scripture is below


Hebrews 12:1-3 12 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3 Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.


Throw off everything, be done, the cloak of sadness, despair all that junk in the trunk. Throw it off. Run the race marked out for us. Now let’s just stop there a minute, what race? It’s called Life friends. It has good days and bad days but read again the race marked out for us. That means the race God wants us to run. You stop and think about this because I want you to really consider what God’s race for you looks like. Are you someone who can preach to the masses? Not likely – you might say? What does God say – do you think He says you can reach the masses? If He says so are you going to argue with Him? Well then are you someone who can encourage? I bet you can. If you told the story of how you found faith, how Jesus grabbed you up and hugged you tight until you finally figured it out that He loves you and wants all the best for you – if you told that story do you think it would matter to someone else? Isn’t that how you got interested in God, you heard someone’s story and it intrigued you. Everyone has a story, I’ve always thought mine to be pretty vanilla but you know – there are tons of folks out there in the world who love vanilla. So see my story matters, your story matters and we need to tell them.


So throw off everything that hinders – throw it off and throw it out. Then let’s get on with this race marked out for us because I know how it ends… WE WIN



Dear Heavenly Father – thank You for those nudges, thank You for putting people and things in our path to show us Your good message. Please keep sending them, please keep loving us and reminding us how much You love us. Thankful for faith and your always faithfulness. In Jesus Most Perfect Name - Amen


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page