top of page

Hope Defined

I hope I get that raise, I hope I get that job, oh I hope he likes me, I hope it’s a girl, I hope the day is bright and sunny, I hope!



I’ve heard HOPE defined many ways – Holding on to a promised expectation, harnessing opportunity to produce expectation, happiness over promise, feeling optimism, nurturing a dream that is yet to be fulfilled, consistent confidence that a goal will be achieved at a specific time, faith which spells forsaking all I trust Him, Expected desire that time and tide cannot wear away, enduring the present insults to enjoy future bliss, anticipated ambition on future prospects.


Isaiah 40:31 But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. This one always makes me close my eyes and see a picture of someone standing tall and strong, setting off on an adventure up the side of a tall mountain in a beautiful photo setting, as she is walking she feels no struggle, only strength and hope of soon getting to the top when an eagle appears, souring with large spread wings gracefully soaring above in the crystal blue sky showing her the way. As she hits the top full of renewed vigor for knowing she made it – she prevailed over the large mountain. Her hopes met as she stands and takes in the glory of the view knowing that only God can create such beauty. It is hope defined.


Psalm 25:21 May integrity and uprightness protect me, because my hope, Lord, is in you.

Psalm 33:18 But the eyes of the Lord are on those who fear him, on those whose hope is in his unfailing love

Psalm 37:9 For those who are evil will be destroyed, but those who hope in the Lord will inherit the land.

Psalm 39:7 “But now, Lord, what do I look for? My hope is in you.

Psalm 71:14 As for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more.

Psalm 119:116 Sustain me, my God, according to your promise, and I will live; do not let my hopes be dashed.

Psalm 130:5 I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope.

Micah 7:7 But as for me, I watch in hope for the Lord, I wait for God my Savior; my God will hear me.

Acts 2:26 Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest in hope

In my lifetime I have seen peaks and valleys, you just don’t get to this age and not have seen your fair share of trauma and drama. In all the times both bad or good there has never been a time when I lost all hope. I just never have been the sort to fold up and see no way out, no light at the end. I think because as bad as things have ever been I know there is always hope.


That is worth repeating


There is ALWAYS Hope!



Psalm 33:20 We wait in hope for the Lord; he is our help and our shield.

Lord bless us and keep us. Lord always be our beacon of hope - AMEN

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page