top of page

Grateful? Grate-full? Grate-empty?


Just as anger or frustration manifests itself in the form of a tight chest or shortness of breath, gratitude too has a physical sensation. It can feel like warmth in the body, a sense of grounded-ness, a slowing of the breath, spaciousness in the chest and heart, uncontrollable tears or an automatic smile.



This is a really colorful way to describe gratefulness. Slowing of breath, spaciousness in the chest and heart. I especially love the automatic smile. If you are of a certain age like me you’ll remember an old commercial for iced tea I think Lipton where the person took a drink of a nice glass of iced tea then fell backwards in to the pool saying …ahhh. Now it does give a great mental picture but dang did they have to ruin the glass of tea? I’d have handed it off before falling so I could drink it later…giggle! Just say’n!


Colossians 3:15-17 NIV 15 Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. 16 Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts. 17 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.



1 Thessalonians 5:17-19 17 pray continually, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. 19 Do not quench the Spirit.


What is a stronger word for grateful? thankful, pleased, beholden, indebted, gratifying, acceptable, good, favorable, obliged, gratified, agreeable, comforting, congenial, delectable, delicious, delightful, desirable, pleasant, pleasurable, refreshing.


Whatever name you put on it, being grateful in your circumstances is something we can all strive for and try to achieve every day. Don’t let the bad or ugly claim control over your heart and mind. Recently a co-worker of mine was in an accident and had to have a foot amputated, hearing this I began thinking…oh gosh he is getting married in July, oh gosh he walks and drives for his job, that’s going to be tough, as I kept praying for him and his situation my thoughts began to move to… Thank God … because the other person involved is in a coma and on life support, the foot was the only thing he lost and given how bad it was he could have lost more. I’m not grateful for him being in the hospital but I’m grateful for God showing up, I’m grateful for my other co-workers who are texting, calling and visiting. He is feeling the love and I am proud for that too. He needs our prayers, love and support.


There is always another way to look at things. Being grateful, finding the positive side of things certainly may not be easy always, for sure, it really is – the right way to think, feel and be.



Dear Heavenly Father – I thank You for having learned how with Your guidance how to be grateful in the storms. I know I can always use more help to get there faster so please be with me and all who are reading this to find that grateful place. I am so thankful for You giving us the spirit of grateful. Please be with my co-worker and allow him to heal up whole. I also know several other people in my life that are needing some divine healing – please be with them too – with my thanks. In Jesus Name - Amen

5 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page