top of page

Eye for an Eye

In the Old Testament there are multiple times when it was called for to give to those who have done to others or to you. If someone hurt someone they were to be hurt in kind. An Eye for an Eye. For many years the “rules” were so, even when the death penalty was enacted that was likely the “Biblical backing” given for how it was “justified”.


Sometimes though there is more to the story. Sometimes there is a change that comes about for the better. You know God was no doubt frustrated with His humans over our sin nature. I’m sure he wanted us to STOP hurting each other both in our language and physically. So there was the threat of – don’t hurt someone else or you’ll get hurt yourself.

I’m going to be transparent here – as I was raising my child I believed in spanking and now that I am a Grandma I believe spanking just really isn’t a good punishment. I don’t think hitting a child is ok any longer. I believe as a parent you need to be invested enough in your children to know what the alternate should be – what your child’s “spanking” should look like. See for my daughter instead of a swat on the backside, I could tell her to stand in the corner and repeat – I will not ____. Whatever she did wrong. That was her “spanking” and it worked better.


Many years ago I also believed in the Death Penalty, and today I am not so sure. In the early-mid 60’s my Mother’s oldest brother and his wife were murdered in cold blood. The man was caught and convicted of Auntie’s murder. He was not tried for Uncle’s murder. Many years later this man came up for parole and my cousin wanted him tried for her Dad’s murder but the evidence was old and no good. They and other family members wrote victim impact statements that kept the man in prison until he died. His freedom was removed. He was no longer allowed to freely visit his family. As a younger person I was in favor of this man dying for taking the lives of two people that were important to my family. I did not remember them but my cousins who were all under the age of 10 certainly did. They lost not one but BOTH parents, they were raised by grandparents that told them things about the other side of the family that just were not true. My Mom lost her brother and sister-in-law. My Grandma and Grandpa lost their oldest son. I can’t even imagine how they must have felt. My Grandma was all heart, she was the kindest most gentile soul you’d ever meet. She loved really fully her family. She laughed with everything she was, it was a total body laugh and she jiggled when she laughed, it was a joy to be present. Their deaths must have been a devastating loss to her especially. My Grandparents attended the trial for this man, they were there day in and out with this man. That alone makes me sad for my Grandma. This woman though was – again I say – all heart. She consoled his Mother. Her thoughts were – She was losing a son too. How far away from Eye for an Eye do you get? Oh I think Grandma wanted justice for them and the kids but I’m not so sure she wanted him to die. She didn’t seem the type to want that. Now I never actually had a conversation with her about it, however, I do know this – My Grandma Effie LOVED Jesus and I know that I know that I know she read this….


Matthew 5:38-41 Eye for Eye 38 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’[h] 39 But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also. 40 And if anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, hand over your coat as well. 41 If anyone forces you to go one mile, go with them two miles. 42 Give to the one who asks you, and do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.



This scripture clearly changes the rules set aside in the Old Testament. Jesus was pretty clear in what He said above. My Grandma certainly was the type that would have given her last penny to someone in need. I know she would have cooked for anyone hungry. She never had much in this lifetime but she was one of the richest people I’ve ever known because she had love. She showed love, she shared love, she gave love and she was loved by so many. Her family was so important to her. She married in 1928 at the age of 15 and the next year she began giving birth to her children. They had 12 children. So you can imagine how big family was important.


So even though it was the way in the old times. Jesus changed the entire dynamic. He changed the rules and He meant to. He did not want life to be about taking out a pound of flesh. He wanted our lives to be about LOVE.


Let’s Pray

Dear Heavenly Father, First – thank You for sending Jesus to change the rules, to change the world. For the BETTER. Thank You for love, help us to see love instead of hate, instead of indifference, instead of anger, help us find a way to peacefully listen, love and speak in love. Help us strive to be there for any of our brothers or sisters in need. This is a time when we need to pull together as a people and find every way to coexist with the most important command in our hearts and on our lips – Love. Lord, be with each person reading this, bless them with your unending love – bless the families they represent. Thank You, Thank YOU. In Jesus Name we pray - AMEN

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page