top of page

Dance – Dance - Dance


So one of the recent Blog-How-To’s I read was talking about inspiration and how you find it when you might need some fresh ideas. This one said write about a memory, something that you remember very distinctly and you can describe that memory well, or maybe you want to write about something you’ve lost, something you are not able to do any longer.


In my 20’s I loved to dance, actually I’ve loved to dance since I was a little girl…I don’t care if it was country line dancing or just getting out there and grooving to a great beat, I loved it. I loved all of it. My parents loved good music I remember thinking that as a kid, even when I was grown and looking at their vinyls and cd’s. Daddy’s early favorite was Roy Orbison’s Oh Pretty Woman and that has a good beat to dance to. Mom and Pop loved a big variety, from the slow stuff of the Righteous Brothers to Motown – the Temps and the Tops oh and they liked the 4 Seasons, now that’s some dancing music! I was a kid / teen in the 70’s and there

was some just fantastic music in the 70’s. I mean good stuff you could dance to. Just at the end of 8 Track Tapes, we had players in our cars that looked all new age, it had a bottom that sat on the “hump” in the car and stuck there. Talk about UPTOWN!!! Grin. The height of music there. Slider volume control. Many a road trip we made with our music. It has been a fixture of my life for as long as I can remember. Music and dancing – dancing and music.


Dancing was my “drug” of choice. You did not have to convince me, I was there and involved. At one point in my mid-twenties I had a group of friends who were dancing fans too so we danced every Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Night after night of great songs and sweet moves. Oh how much I loved dancing. Not too long ago was talking to my Pop and he said, I remember you as a little girl you were always dancing, I remember that and remember it fondly. Now days I can dance but in place – sitting down. Move the shoulders and tap my feet. There is so much joy in dancing, even if you don’t stand up and jump around there is still so much joy in it.


I have a co-worker that I don’t see often because isn’t in the office much but our fun thing is to do a “named” dance when we see each other like the cabbage patch, the hustle or the swimming dance – oh you know flap your arms up and down and then hold your nose and bend down like you’re going under water. Ok ok it’s old, what can I say. It’s fun. My Granddaughter LOVES to dance, I love to tell the Alexa to play a song and off she goes dancing around. She likes the Twist by Chubby Checker and Neutron Dance by the Pointer Sisters. How it makes me smile, takes me back and makes me so happy to see how much she likes dancing too. I can’t help but get excited and dance myself when she gets started too.

It’s something so special - Just sway to the music, bounce to the beat, swish around in a poetic way… get lost in the words and just move like nobody is watching. Yeah that’s the kind of dance I love. A celebration – of life, of Joy, of Gods blessings of dancing. So what is your dance? What takes you away and gives you that joy?



Psalm 149:1-4 (AMP) Sing to the Lord a new song, and praise Him in the congregation of His godly ones (believers). 2Let Israel rejoice in their Maker; Let Zion’s children rejoice in their King. 3 Let them praise His name with dancing; Let them sing praises to Him with the tambourine and lyre.


Dear Heavenly Father


Thank You for dance, thank You for something that brings this much joy and never seems to quit bringing joy. It is just a small thing in the entirety that You provide oh the joy though. Lord it may seem silly to some to be thankful for dance, I just know it’s the dance, it’s the joy it’s the feeling of lightness and happy at doing something I love so much. I am very grateful for music, dancing and now my granddaughter loving it too. Another source of joy. Thank You for dancing and praising. Praising and dancing. Amen

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page