top of page

Constant

Me Arguing with God - Do you suppose that only non-believers or crazy folks argue with God? What if I told you I actually told God – NO. Not once but several times in a two week period of time. Not only did I tell Him no but I was stubborn enough to believe He didn’t understand my circumstances. I didn’t think He knew why I kept saying no. it was not that I didn’t believe in Him. I just didn’t want to invite the trouble I knew would come if I yielded. If you have a group and you ask someone from another group to come to YOUR group and they do it and stay – you are a thief. I’m no thief. Nope Nope and twice on Sunday – Nope.


The first meeting was after a group who’s purpose was to meet new people coming to your group. The leader of this other group didn’t have a female lead so he introduced her to me thinking it would be a good thing. Innocent enough. Well then our liason from church wanted me to attend his group meeting to cheer him on, nothing more, cheer him on and keep him feeling good about leading. He did just fine at the meeting. There she was though, the lady he introduced me to. She sat next to me and all evening she talked to me lots, I was so hopeful she felt comfortable. Then comes the part where I say no. God wants me to be in this lady’s life and her in mine, he laid it out there and told me – reach out girl. But God, she is in that other group. No way Jose! Again He told me – reach out to her stubborn head. Again – NO. this noise went on for two weeks and over that two weeks the amount of time God spent trying to bang me over the head was very large indeed. I felt like I could not get a way from the constant – you contact that lady and you do it NOW. I told you NOW.


Now two weeks is a long time in my life but you know God is patient, I would go on and quote the Corinthians here but kind was not what I would call God when it came to talking to me about this person He wanted in my life. I felt like He was beating me up and yelling at me about it. Finally I relented. I knew she was going to think my cheese done slid of it’s cracker and I knew she was going to RUN fast and far away because I wrote her an email instead of calling her. I was not going to ask him for her number so I only had an email. I emailed and I felt like the right thing was to be as honest as possible and explain that God wanted this.

Gratefully she didn’t argue with God not one bit and was gracious in her reply to me. Little did I know that she wasn’t used to having girlfriends. Who can’t use new friends huh. So she came to my group, thankfully so because the other group stop meeting not too long afterwards. Seems God knew what He was doing. He wanted her to have a place. Who would have thought? What do I know anyways?


Now mind you – the next time God said – Contact this person. I did not hesitate, I did not say no. So what of this lady? Well I’m glad you asked. Over the time we’ve had in each others life I’ve seen her grow as Mom, as a Grandma, as a spiritual sister, as a friend, no area greater though than in faith. I remember when her Mom passed away. I was mortified because I had turned my phone off for the night and in the morning I saw she had called, listened to the voice mail and was immediately so upset I had to really calm down before I called her. I was so upset I was not there for her in this time of need. Oh why. Why did I shut that phone ringer off? Turns out she told me nobody answered so she was left to pray and what she got was that God wanted her to lean on Him and Him alone. Now I don’t know but I am convinced that not all people would react that way. This was a hard time for her but sure enough this hard time in her own life lead to her loving on me in mine. Years later my own Mom passed away and I was in a tiny church down the road from my parents house three-hundred miles from home and there she was. I was dumbfounded at first thinking, oh gosh I am surprised but then I realized I needed a friend there, something just for me and there they were.


1 Kings 8:28 28 Yet give attention to your servant’s prayer and his plea for mercy, Lord my God. Hear the cry and the prayer that your servant is praying in your presence this day.

Another time when she asked me to help her pray over her new house so it would be a positive place with good feelings and just be a blessing. I went but I recall as we walked around making crosses on the door jambs and saying blessings that she was the one with the good word. She has told me about many people in her lifetime who could “pray the paint off the walls” what my friend may not realize is that she is a pray warrior just like those she admires. Oh I think she could give anyone a run for the money on that paint off the way praying.


When God puts someone in your life and inserts them as He most obviously did in mine. There is a reason. Over the years we have talked daily and sometimes multiple times a day. Sometimes we went a week without talking. This is all part of the process of friendship. There are days when she needs the conversation more and then there are days when I need the conversation more but one thing is very evident. God wanted this relationship for her, for me, for us. I have not been, am not, and won’t be sorry for this friendship, not now and not ever. This is a good thing.


Constantly my friend, constantly my sister in Christ, constantly someone who will pray for me and pray with me. Pray that paint off on my behalf. Someone who has my back. God knew what He was doing. I didn’t know I needed this constant like I didn’t realize I needed someone to be at that funeral…someone just for me.



Dear Heavenly Father – Thank you for the 2X4 I needed it to stop arguing with You. Grateful You didn’t give up. As if You ever would. I supposed you could have stopped and just let me go on but then my life would not be as full. Thank You again and thanks for – someone just for me. AMEN


8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page