top of page

Be What We Were Made To Be.

What were you MADE to do? What is Gods plan and Purpose for you?



Romans 12:6 We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. (NIV version)


Let’s take a look at the Message version 4-6 In this way we are like the various parts of a human body. Each part gets its meaning from the body as a whole, not the other way around. The body we’re talking about is Christ’s body of chosen people. Each of us finds our meaning and function as a part of his body. But as a chopped-off finger or cut-off toe we wouldn’t amount to much, would we? So since we find ourselves fashioned into all these excellently formed and marvelously functioning parts in Christ’s body, let’s just go ahead and be what we were made to be, without enviously or pride-fully comparing ourselves with each other, or trying to be something we aren’t.


I don’t know a better way to say, you were planned and you have a purpose. Even if you don’t know what that is or how to figure it out. You have a purpose! You are here for a reason, you are needed, you are necessary! So what is your purpose? What does your plan and purpose look like? For me, early on my purpose looked one way and it seemed like I figured it all out but as time went by and I actually saw clearly what my purpose is I figured out that I really had to get out of my own way in order to see what my true purpose is. I was very short sighted about it until I moved away and looked at it with God eyes.


Think of it this way, so you may be able to kick a football pretty far, so be the kicker. If, though, you can throw and run and block well then you could be any part of the team you pick. You are not limited to just kicker. When you are looking at your purpose try to see what it could be from God’s perspective, not yours. I think sometimes we have the ability to short change ourselves when it comes to self-evaluation. (Raising my hand) I am guilty too. I know this, God does NOT want us to self-criticize, He does not want us to self-loath, He wants us see ourselves from HIS perspective and do what we were made to do.

Ok so first – seeing ourselves as He wants…


Song of Solomon 4:7 ESV You are altogether beautiful, my love; there is no flaw in you.



Psalm 139:13-15 ESV For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother's womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.


Ephesians 5:29 ESV For no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ does the church


1 John 3:1 ESV See what kind of love the Father has given to us, that we should be called children of God; and so we are. The reason why the world does not know us is that it did not know him.


Deuteronomy 31:6 ESV Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”


Ephesians 2:10 ESV For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them


John 13:34-35 ESV A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.


I could go on and on here but I’m going to end with this one – it says plain as day – LOVE YOURSELF


Matthew 22:39 ESV And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.



How can a person who God loves SO much, not have a purpose. I think portions of my purpose have changed over the years too. When I first began my faith walk I was working for a Jewish man. He was from Tel Aviv Jerusalem, I figured out quickly that his faith and my faith had some parallels but they were also different. Thankfully he was not closed minded about his own faith or mine. I asked him questions and he asked me questions. It made understanding and accepting my faith so much easier. Now that is not to say I didn’t get challenged and I think that was part of my purpose too. I got challenged early on and I was not really very equipped to respond but all in all I think I did pretty well.


Two co-workers and I were having a discussion. They both agreed and said out loud that they did not understand “guy in the sky” theory. I asked if they ever heard of miracles that Jesus had performed, that Moses performed and they said yes but who knows if that is true. Don’t see evidence of anything in our time. I then said – well Jesus died over 2000 years ago and since then there have been thousands, if not millions or more people who believe in God and believe that Jesus was the Messiah – do you think all these people are under some kind of mass delusion. To which they responded – Yes. Now at this point I think they were just testing me to see what I would say, I don’t know that they believe or don’t but I held firm. At the point we were there I just said – ok fair enough, I’ll pray for you guys. Left it at that.


There will be people you can reach, there will be people you can’t. Don’t let those decrease your value or your purpose. Your value is greater than one or a few messed up comments.

Your value is not tied up in any other person. You have to have faith, faith that what God says is truth. He alone is your audience. So while you are out there just do your best, then leave the results up to God. Can’t go wrong there.


Let’s Pray

Heavenly Father, Thank You first for Your love, thank You for planning us and making us important. Thank You for the value we have in You. Please show us each our purpose and plan and be with us while we walk that out. Thank You – In Jesus Name - Amen

7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page