top of page

Are you Christian Enough?

(Wrote this one back in 2014 but it still applies)


If you were on trial for being a Christian, would there be enough evidence?



Wow, what a question huh? I thought so too as I was getting ready for Church on Sunday and listening to church on TV. The Pastor was giving his sermon focused on not standing still and letting things happen around you but standing up and doing something about it. Quite the challenge huh? I thought so too.


That question really gives me reason to pause and just consider this question about me. Would there be, now I can say I’d like to think there is. I also know there are always places where I can improve. Do you suppose God puts things like this in front of us on purpose – Here’s your zinger for the day – bam there ya go – now go think about that for a while….hmmm interesting huh. Why would He do that? Because He wants us to consider things like this, He wants us to give our best, it’s also about obedience, He wants us to follow His commands, do His will. Above all remember…He loves us


So then I get to Church and here comes the new sermon in the Drones series, the Drones - they are everywhere – see all – hear all – know all. So today Pastor Ed is speaking about God being omniscient. Now I will stop here and provide for those who might not know the definition of this big word.


Websters: having infinite awareness, understanding, and insight 2 : possessed of universal or complete knowledge


His sermon talks about how God knows everything. I loved this particular line – You can’t pull off a surprise party for God. (giggle) He goes on to talk about how God knows us very well and also how He feels about us. I loved this line “If we knew how many thoughts God had about us it would outnumber the sands on the shore”. And my reaction to that… wow… Pastor goes on

God…


1) Knows what we know

2) Knows what we do

3) Knows what we think

4) Knows where we go

5) Knows what we say


Continuing with how God knows what we need before we need it. Which leads me back to the original question… what do we do in return, what are we supposed to do? Are we doing it? If we were on trial for being Christian, would there be enough evidence? What will it take for us to rise up and do what God wants? What we know we should.



Psalm 139

For the director of music. Of David. A psalm.

1 You have searched me, Lord, and you know me. 2 You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. 3 You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. 4 Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it ompletely. 5 You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me. 6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.


1 Samuel 2:3 New International Version (NIV)

3 “Do not keep talking so proudly or let your mouth speak such arrogance, for the Lord is a God who knows, and by him deeds are weighed.


1 John 3:20New International Version (NIV)

20 If our hearts condemn us, we know that God is greater than our hearts, and he knows everything.


Psalm 147:5 New International Version (NIV)

5 Great is our Lord and mighty in power; his understanding has no limit.


Proverbs 15:3 New International Version (NIV)

3 The eyes of the Lord are everywhere, keeping watch on the wicked and the good.

He knows all my ways, he knows all my mistakes – yet still loves me. He knows all my hurts, my wounds.


Psalm 56:8 New International Version (NIV)

8 Record my misery; list my tears on your scroll[a]— are they not in your record?

Your tears are stored in a bottle in Heaven, interesting right? He knows our secret works too, things we do without wanting or needing anything in return. True gestures of love


Matthew 6:4 New International Version (NIV)

4 so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.

What does he want in return? I believe that answer comes in many forms. One is “The Great Commission” which we are part of, it’s what He commanded the disciples to do and it’s what He wants from us as well.


Matthew 28:16-20 The Great Commission

16 Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. 18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”


John 15:9-17

9 “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love.10 If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. 11 I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. 12 My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. 13 Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. 14 You are my friends if you do what I command. 15 I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you. 16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last—and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you. 17 This is my command: Love each other.


Seems to me like even though the Pastors I listened to Sunday were from different churches, even different teachings and teaching styles, however, the overall theme seemed to fit together like they were in the same room while preparing. Coincidence? I think – No… it’s a call to arms, a call from God to prepare.


If God does all this for us and because of us, He loves us this much then we should be willing to do His best while we are here. Stop complaining about boo hoo me, and I include myself in this too… no boo hoo me either… even on my worst day I never sat in a garden praying knowing what was to come, I never was being beaten until I should have died but did not, and finally I never lived a sin free, upright and righteous life yet died a horrible death to save those who are not worthy.



It’s not enough to say, “I’m not worthy” say it, that’s true of all of us. AND, let’s do something to attempt to be worthy, to try and really earn and appreciate that love, that sacrifice.


Dear Heavenly Father, most importantly in this prayer I want to say thank You. Thank You on my own behalf and on behalf of my family, thank You on behalf of those reading and their families. I am so grateful for Your love, for You sending Your son for me and mine for all of us, so that we can have freedom. Father, I know we all are grateful for You sending Jesus to teach, to preach, to be the living sacrifice. Father, I ask You to show each of us individually what we can do for Your glory. What we can all in our own way do to advance the kingdom of Heaven. I ask You to show us clearly, with obvious clarity as I received this Sunday on what needs to be done as our next step and then the next. Father give us all the strength and the will do stay the course until it is done. Father I know there will come resistance in our course, I ask that You stand firm with each of us and show us the way to not succumb to the the lies I know will come, that resistance that always shows up when people stand in agreement with the Almighty. Show us instead the narrow path we must take to reach the goal for which we are called. I thank You on behalf of myself and my family and I thank You on behalf of those who will read this. In Jesus most precious name – Amen


7 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page